Sign up with your email address to be the first to know about new products, VIP offers, blog features & more.

You are viewing WINGS


By Posted on 0 24

Former Wings guitarist Laurence Juber‘s debut solo album, Standard Time, which was first issued in 1982, will be released as a digital download for the first time ever this Friday, January 26. The instrumental collection features two original Juber compositions, one of which, “Maisie,” was recorded in 1978 with Paul McCartney on bass and fellow Wings members Denny Laine and Steve Holley on harmonica and drums, respectively, while the band was working on its final record, Back to the Egg.

Juber has posted a video of “Maisie”, that features text telling the story behind the recording of the track, as well as archival photos of him and his Wings band mates:

Paul and Laurence Juber reunite backstage at Anaheim Stadium in Anaheim, California, on April 17, 1993, during Paul’s solo New World Tour

Maisie” was my songwriting contribution to the album. It was really my first finger-style guitar piece. It was recorded with Paul, Steve Holley [drums], and Denny Laine [rhythm guitarist] — he’s playing harmonica on the track — so it’s essentially a Wings song.

The album also includes covers of various standards, among them “Stormy Weather,” “Autumn Leaves,” “After You’ve Gone” and “There Never Will Be Another You.” Standard Time came about after McCartney asked Juber to record songs owned by Paul’s publishing company. The original version of Standard Time, which was only issued on vinyl, featured six songs, while the new digital edition boasts 10 tracks.


Here’s the track list of the digital edition of Standard Time:

“You’re No Good”
“Don’t Let Go”
“There Will Never Be Another You”
“Stormy Weather”
“Autumn Leaves”
“Four Brothers”
“After You’ve Gone”
“The Christmas Song”



By Posted on 2 , 1

London Town is the sixth studio album by Wings, released in 1978. The album had a long and tumultuous gestation which saw the loss of two band members, the birth of James and the release of the then best-selling single in British history.

In February 1977, Wings began recording sessions at Abbey Road Studios, which continued until the end of March. Here, Wings recorded five songs: “Girls’ School”, “Name and Address”, “London Town”, “Children, Children” and Linda McCartney’s “B-Side to Seaside”, later issued as the flip-side of the Wings single “Seaside Woman” (issued under the name “Suzy and the Red Stripes”).The initial plan of touring the US again was thwarted by Linda’s discovery that she was pregnant with her and Paul’s third child. With the knowledge that they were not going to tour and had time at their disposal – and once again looking for different locales to record in – Wings found themselves moored on a yacht called “Fair Carol” in the Virgin Islands during the month of May where several new songs were recorded. Reflecting the nautical locale, the album’s initial working title was Water Wings. As Linda’s pregnancy progressed, the band halted the sessions for the album, save for the recording of a new track called “Mull of Kintyre” that August and the completion of the already begun “Girls’ School”, which would be released as a single – Wings’ one and only release in 1977.

Before the single’s release came two defections from Wings: drummer Joe English had become homesick for America and returned home, and lead guitarist Jimmy McCulloch left to join the Small Faces that September. For the first time since 1973’s Band on the Run, Wings were down to the core three of Paul, Linda and Denny Laine, reflected on the picture sleeve of the single, which showed the three remaining members. In November, two months after the birth of son James, and shortly after sessions for London Town resumed, the Scottish tribute “Mull of Kintyre” was released to enormous commercial success, becoming the UK’s biggest-selling single (outstripping The Beatles’ largest seller “She Loves You”). Although it would be topped in 1984 by Band Aid, “Mull of Kintyre” still ranks as the UK’s fourth biggest selling single and the largest selling non-charity single.

After some final overdubbing in January 1978, London Town was completed and preceded by the US No. 1 “With a Little Luck” that March, while the album was released a week later.

London Town LP artwork

Uncropped photo of the London Town LP cover.

This is the original un-cropped photo that was used for the cover of the London Town album.

Original background used for the cover and labels :


The official album:


Vinyl :


  • Paul McCartney – vocal, guitar, bass, keyboards, drums, percussion, violin, flageolet, recorder
  • Denny Laine – vocal, guitar, bass, flageolet, recorder, percussion
  • Linda McCartney – vocal, keyboards, percussion
  • Jimmy McCulloch – guitar, percussion
  • Joe English – vocal, drums, percussion, harmonica