Sign up with your email address to be the first to know about new products, VIP offers, blog features & more.


By Posted on 0 0

The Bootleg Series Vol. 16 (1980-1985) celebrates the creative period surrounding his albums Shot of Love, Infidels, and Empire Burlesque with previously unreleased outtakes, alternate takes, rehearsal recordings, live performances and more. The collection, available as a deluxe 5-disc box set, as well as 2-CD and 2-LP highlight packages, arrives September 17, 2021, via Sony’s Legacy Recordings.

The deluxe 5-CD edition of the album, presents 57 rare Dylan recordings, 54 of them previously unreleased in any format, from 1980-1985. The deluxe edition features a book with extensive liner notes written by Damien Love, previously unseen photos and more.
Springtime in New York: The Bootleg Series Vol. 16 (1980-1985) Deluxe Edition:
Disc 1 (1980-1981)

  1. Señor (Tales of Yankee Power) (Rehearsal)
  2. To Ramona (Rehearsal)
  3. Jesus Met the Woman at the Well (Rehearsal)
  4. Mary of the Wild Moor (Rehearsal)
  5. Need a Woman (Rehearsal)
  6. A Couple More Years (Rehearsal)
  7. Mystery Train (Shot of Love Outtake) Featuring Ringo Starr,
  8. This Night Won’t Last Forever (Rehearsal)
  9. We Just Disagree (Rehearsal)
  10. Let’s Keep It Between Us (Rehearsal)
  11. Sweet Caroline (Rehearsal)
  12. Fever (Rehearsal)
  13. Abraham, Martin and John (Rehearsal)
    (With a group of musicians including Fred Tackett (guitar), David Mansfield (mandolin), Willie Smith (keyboards), Tim Drummond (bass), Jim Keltner (drums) and background vocals by Clydie King, Carolyn Dennis, Gwen Evans, and Regina McCrary.

Disc 2

(Outtakes and alternate takes of recordings produced by Chuck Plotkin for Shot of Love)

  1. Angelina (Shot of Love Outtake)
  2. Price of Love (Shot of Love Outtake)
  3. I Wish It Would Rain (Shot of Love Outtake)
  4. Let It Be Me (International 7″ Single B-Side)
  5. Cold, Cold Heart (Shot of Love Outtake)
  6. Don’t Ever Take Yourself Away (Shot of Love Outtake)
  7. Fur Slippers (Shot of Love Outtake)
  8. Borrowed Time (Shot of Love Outtake)
  9. Is It Worth It? (Shot of Love Outtake)
  10. Lenny Bruce (Shot of Love Alternate Mix)
  11. Yes Sir, No Sir (Shot of Love Outtake)

Discs Three and Four are centered on the material Dylan wrote for Infidels, performed by the all-star band assembled for the album which featured Mark Knopfler (guitar), Mick Taylor (guitar), Alan Clark (keyboards), Robbie Shakespeare (bass) and Sly Dunbar (drums):

Disc 3

  1. Jokerman (Infidels Alternate Take)
  2. Blind Willie McTell (Take 5 – Infidels Outtake)
  3. Don’t Fall Apart on Me Tonight (Version 1) (Infidels Alternate Take)
  4. Don’t Fall Apart on Me Tonight (Version 2) (Infidels Alternate Take)
  5. Neighborhood Bully (Infidels Alternate Take)
  6. Someone’s Got a Hold of My Heart (Infidels Outtake)
  7. This Was My Love (Infidels Outtake)
  8. Too Late (Acoustic Version) (Infidels Outtake)
  9. Too Late (Band Version) (Infidels Outtake)
  10. Foot of Pride (Infidels Outtake)

Disc 4

  1. Clean Cut Kid (Infidels Outtake)
  2. Sweetheart Like You (Infidels Alternate Take)
  3. Baby What You Want Me To Do (Infidels Outtake)
  4. Tell Me (Infidels Outtake)
  5. Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground (Infidels Outtake)
  6. Julius and Ethel (Infidels Outtake)
  7. Green, Green Grass of Home (Infidels Outtake)
  8. Union Sundown (Infidels Outtake)
  9. Lord Protect My Child (Infidels Outtake)
  10. I and I (Infidels Alternate Take)
  11. Death is Not the End (Full Version) (Infidels Outtake)


No Comments Yet.

Welcome. Please let your comment here, thank you. Name/Nickname and comment are required. Email address will not be displayed.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *